Chairman Upton Announces Subcommittee Chairs and Vice Chairs for the 113th Congress

Submitted: November 28, 2012 - 7:43pm Originally published: November 28, 2012 Last updated: November 29, 2012 - 8:56am

Source: House of Representatives Commerce Committee

Location:

House Commerce Committee, 45 Independence Ave SW 2123 Rayburn House Office Building, Washington, DC, 20515, United States

After once again being selected by his colleagues to serve as Chairman of the U.S. House Committee on Energy and Commerce, Congressman Fred Upton (R-MI) announced the committee leadership he intends to appoint for the 113th Congress and commented on key priorities for the future.

Rep. Lee Terry (R-NE) will succeed Rep. Mary Bono Mack (R-CA) leading the Commerce, Manufacturing, and Trade Subcommittee and Rep. Tim Murphy (R-PA) will take the helm of the Oversight and Investigations Subcommittee from outgoing Rep. Cliff Stearns (R-FL). Chairman Upton also announced that Rep. Marsha Blackburn (R-TN) will serve as the full committee Vice Chair, a position previously held by Rep. Sue Myrick (R-NC).

The committee's leadership team is expected to be rounded out by returning members including Energy and Power Subcommittee Chairman Ed Whitfield (R-KY), Environment and the Economy Subcommittee Chairman John Shimkus (R-IL), Health Subcommittee Chairman Joe Pitts (R-PA), Communications and Technology Subcommittee Chairman Greg Walden (R-OR), and Chairman Emeritus Joe Barton (R-TX). Upton also intends to name five new subcommittee Vice Chairs, including tapping Rep. Michael C. Burgess, M.D. (R-TX), for the key slot on the Oversight and Investigations Subcommittee, in addition to his current role as Vice Chair of the Health Subcommittee. Burgess is a physician with extensive oversight experience who will play a significant role in the continued oversight of the Affordable Care Act.

Full Committee

Chair: Fred Upton (R-MI) Vice Chair: Marsha Blackburn (R-TN) Chairman Emeritus: Joe Barton (R-TX) Communications and Technology

Chair: Greg Walden (R-OR) Vice Chair: Bob Latta (R-OH) Commerce, Manufacturing, and Trade

Chair: Lee Terry (R-NE) Vice Chair: Leonard Lance (R-NJ) Oversight and Investigations

Chair: Tim Murphy (R-PA) Vice Chair: Michael C. Burgess, M.D. (R-TX)